Перейти к содержимому

English For Pleasure

  • записи
    64
  • комментариев
    95
  • просмотров
    110 140

Using Songs In Teaching English

Владислав

1 039 просмотров

Everyone likes songs. You just put on CD and press "play", don`t you?

Probably the most important thing is to choose a song in which the lyrics are clear. Choose a singer with a nice clear voice, like Frank Sinatra, for example. The recording should also be a good one.

There`s also the issue of whether or not the language is a suitable level-difficulty. And it is also a question od whether your students like the song.

 

What do you do with a song?

1. Do some listening exercises. In planning what you are going to do with a song you want to think about productive pre-, during- and post-listening tasks that are going to be language rich.

2. If you want to do some "fill-in-the-gaps exercises", please do it. But remember, you should do the exersice with the blanking words at the end of the line, but not the words that they rhyme with. It will be difficult for your students.

3. You could also try giving them, say, 12 chunks of the song, and get them to do it (before listening) as a "jigsaw reading" exercise, which they could then confirm during listening.

 

 I will not write this article more, please visit these sites and you will read by yourself about teaching English with songs:

 

How to Use Songs in the English Language Classroom - https://www.britishcouncil.org/voices-magazine/how-use-songs-english-language-classroom

Using Songs: https://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/article/using-songs-0

How to Teach English Using Songs - http://genkienglish.net/eslsongs.htm

Using Music in the ESL Classroom - http://www.englishclub.com/teaching-tips/music-classroom.htm

Songs and Activities for English Language Learners: https://sandraheyersongs.com/lesson-plans-for-recent-hits/

 

Song Worksheets

Worksheeets with Songs: https://www.liveworksheets.com/worksheets/en/English_as_a_Second_Language_(ESL)/Worksheets_with_songs

English ESL Song Worksheets: https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/search/song

Teaching with Songs: http://www.isabelperez.com/songs.htm

My Worksheets: One Republic "Feel Again": https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/vocabulary/environment/onerepublic-feel-again/122614

Adele "Hello": https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/material-type/activities-songs-and-nursery-rhymes/adelle-hello/98326

Garfield "Cool Cat": https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/skill/listening/garfield-cool-cat/16164

Peter, Paul & Mary "Lemon Tree": https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/vocabulary/family/peter-paul-mary-lemon-tree/15317 

Keys: https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/level/upper-intermediate-b2/peter-paul-mary-lemon-tree/15318

Within Temptation "Ice Queen": https://en.islcollective.com/english-esl-worksheets/skill/listening/within-temptation-ice-queen/15220

My Video Lessons: Madonna "Power of Goodbye": https://en.islcollective.com/video-lessons/madonna-power-goodbye

Spice Girls "Mama": https://en.islcollective.com/video-lessons/spice-girls-mama

Whitney Houston "I Will Always Love You": https://en.islcollective.com/video-lessons/whitney-houston-i-will-always-love-you

James Blunt "You`re Beautiful": https://en.islcollective.com/video-lessons/james-blunt-youre-beautiful

 



0 комментариев


Рекомендуемые комментарии

Нет комментариев для отображения

Создайте аккаунт или войдите в него для комментирования

Вы должны быть пользователем, чтобы оставить комментарий

Создать аккаунт

Зарегистрируйтесь для получения аккаунта. Это просто!

Зарегистрировать аккаунт

Войти

Уже зарегистрированы? Войдите здесь.

Войти сейчас
×