Webilingo.com
  • Населённый пункт
    none
  • Регион
    Омская область
  • Стаж работы в школе
    меньше пяти лет
  1. Обучение английскому онлайн

Hello everyone! My name is Karli, and I too have the pleasure of working with Konstantin Shestakov. I currently teach two online classes a week--one to Russian teenagers, and the other to a small group of business professionals. I am currently a graduate student at Indiana University, and I previously taught English at the University of Languages in Baku, Azerbaijan as a Fulbright ETA. Anyway, I am here to provide you with some of my experiences teaching English to my class of teenagers and professionals. First of all, as you all know, active participation on the part of the students is key. One big difference I have noticed between, say, Russian high school and college students and their counterparts in the U.S. is that, in my experience, U.S. students typically complete their homework assignments. In my class with the Russian teenagers, however, this is not always the case. The female students tend to complete their homework assignments far more regularly than do the male students. From wha (of course this is not always the case!). I can tell this difference appears to have something to do with typical gender roles/stereotypes of males in Russian society. It seems to be more acceptable--or is far more expected--that male students do not always complete their homework or actively participate as often in class as do female students. I must say, though, that there are always exceptions to this particular observation; for example, I have one male student at this time who completes his homework 90-95% of the time and typically does his best to participate in classroom discussion. He joined the course a couple of months ago and is therefore the newest student in the group. His hard work has been paying off, though; he has already caught up to the students in the class (with introductory skills in English) who have studie